top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture๐•’๐•ž๐•’๐•ซ๐•–๐•๐•๐•š๐•’

๐”๐”ข๐”ค๐”ข๐”ซ๐”ก ๐”ฌ๐”ฃ โ„จ๐”ข๐”ฉ๐”ก๐”ž: ๐”น๐•ฃ๐•–๐•’๐•ฅ๐•™ ๐• ๐•— ๐•ฅ๐•™๐•– ๐•Ž๐•š๐•๐••

Updated: Mar 6, 2019



Okay, lemme give you the overview and my thoughts on this game, which is available in Nintendo Switch and Wii U. First of all, that guy above ain't Zelda. Second, I though you gotta go back and play their previous games before playing this, and lastly, what I did not anticipated was that they have an entire timeline - which is still an mess until now - from their 19 games since 1986 ! I never expected the Legend of Zelda to be a huge thing until my little brother explained everything, well not everything; that's why I had to do my own research.


The Legend of Zelda retells the creation of the world done by 3 goddesses: Din, Nayru, and Farore. Before they left the world they created, the three goddesses created the Triforceโ€”a magical object made up of three golden trianglesโ€”and entrusted it with the goddess Hylia. The Triforce grants a wish to those who possess the three virtues of the goddesses: power, wisdom,and courage. If one doesnโ€™t have the proper balance of virtues, the Triforce will split into three pieces. Only by reuniting all three pieces can the true power of the Triforce be obtained. Triforce of Power, Ganondorf, the dark lord who seeks to overthrow Hyrulre. Triforce of Wisdom, Zelda, the noble princess of Hyrule. Triforce of Courage, Link, the brave young hero.


That's only the tip of the iceberg, there is still a timeline. For a game. And even though there is an official timeline from Nintendo, there are so much loopholes to be still seen, though I won't be explaining that. But what makes The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild different from its previous ancestors? But first, storytelling on how I've first played the game.


My brother bought the Switch and 2 games for during vacation, which is April of 2018 and school vacation is on-going. Note that my brother can be pretty possessive and petty when it comes to sharing stuff, which I have to understand since he is my brother. So for a few slow months, So I would watch my brother play the game because he would often reject me when I ask to play, but when he does allow me - which is rare at that time, mind you - , it would only be 1 hour. And that did not felt enjoyable for my first few plays because he would keep rushing me to hurry up or finish playing. Though I'm glad I didn't watch my brother when he collected the memories, cause those are gold! I remember getting the first memory, and I was immediately hooked into the story. [Spoiler ahead] When I thought it was just a cliche introduction of Princess Zelda commemorating Link as her appointed knight in the Scarred Grounds, her Champions, a team of five chosen from the five races of Hyrule to battle against Calamity Ganon, started speaking about Princess Zelda's unenthusiastic speech to Link and how he she sees herself more of a failure, now that the Master Sword, the cool sword that defeats evil, has chosen its courageous wielder, Link. I'll stop here before I try spoiling everything delicious about this game.




So what makes this any different from the previous games, you say? I personally think this game finally gave a fulfilling character development and a proper legend for Zelda, her Champions, and Hyrule after 30 years, a sprinkle of angsty and hopeful theme in the plot, renovating their old conventions on the mechanics on how to play Zelda, and don't get me started with their graphics, its gorgeous. A mix of realistic, practical, an aesthetic style vibe from Studio Ghibli, and the shocking revelation of mix cell-shading, which is only often seen in cartoon or anime, into 3D ? That's my cup of tea.


ยฉ anzumajo.tumblr.com



8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page